Profile

catofshades: (cheshire)

catofshades's Journal

Free Account

Created on 2013-01-05 21:48:32 (#1906979), last updated 2014-02-21 (178 weeks ago)

527 comments received, 286 comments posted

124 Journal Entries, 6 Tags, 0 Memories, 13 Icons

View extended profile

Name:catofshades
Birthdate:Oct 15
Location:(states/regions/territories)
Names:
Cat of Shades, Kitty, Cheshire

Biol Family:
Mother, father, older brother and his wife, much older sister and her husband.
We get along well. We're all a bunch of introverts, and I don't keep in close contact with the sibs. We do share a lot of interests, we just don't go out of our ways to actually share them with each other. It's a shame, but I'm kind of shy about fixing it.

Family of the Heart: (The peeps I live with)
Fiancee: EstelRaca/EstelWolfe. If you haven't read any of her writings yet, then do yourself a treat and look her up. It's a serious crime that she hasn't been published yet.
Brother-in-Spirit: GuardianBeast. We share some bizarre things in common, hence the title. S/he's an amazing artist, so go check out the deviantart page.
Close Friend and Roomie: The most normal of us. He holds up well to our oddities, though. Gamer, anime/toku fan, and the single nicest guy I've ever met. Period.

Interests:
Too many. Biology, Astronomy, Meteorology, Japanese, Anthropology, Religious Studies, Music, Art, Fiction (Sci-fi and Fantasy), Creative Writing, Paranormal Research (because I think that "we don't know what it is" is a pretty piss poor excuse to not study it), Anime, Musicals, Japanese/American/British Fantasy and Sci-fi TV, Fictional Characters That I Get Way Too Attached To, etc

Gender:
Genderqueer. Fairly androgynous, but slightly to the male side. More of a boyish male, than a manly-man male. But certainly not feminine or effeminate.

Orientation:
Pansexual. I'm attracted by heart, soul and mind, not gender.

Religion:
Most of my education and work history has been in the sciences. But, I don't think that science and religion should be as mutually exclusive and incompatible as they're so often treated. I can sum up my view as: If ______ hasn't been actually disproven, I tend to believe that it's possible. Not necessarily true or real, but possible.
I maintain my own individually constructed spirituality without adhering to any one official religion. There are elements of Wicca that appeal to me, as I do base a fair bit of my own spirituality around nature. I do believe in reincarnation, and I don't believe that past lives are limited to being human.

Other:
Otherkin. More specifically, fae-kin. It's a looong story. And involves weird ass dreams.
Closest match I've ever found is the Puca/Pooka, though not so much the "horse form" aspect of it. The forms I've dreamt of have mainly been human: black-haired, boyish featured male between the ages of 10 and 25, often with a small/slight build. Grinning and creepy. Dark, potentially dangerous, but not malevolent. And most certainly a trickster. <3
In rarer instances he's/I've been a black wolf or cat, and I'd be willing to bet crow is on the list as well.

Status:
Recovering from a serious anxiety disorder. It had me knocked out for about a year (staring at the floor all day unable to do anything levels of knocked out). It's a combo of social and general anxiety, panic disorder, and OCD. Thanks to some medication, the support of my families and friends, and a long, slow recuperation period, I'm on the way back up from it. Not perfect. But starting to feel like I might be able to function in a normal life again. It's wonderful.
Also, job hunting. It sucks. Especially after my health has been so shaky. But a fair question of identity is involved in it for me, so I really need to resolve the issue.

I'd say that's pretty thorough. Any questions, anything about my background that catches your interest? Let me know, we can chat.
People [View Entries]
Communities [View entries]
Feeds [View Entries]
To link to this user, copy this code:
On Dreamwidth:
Elsewhere: